Nov 4, 2019

PBR Unleash The Beast Returns to Kansas City on Feb. 28-March 1

Kansas City, Mo. (Nov. 4, 2019) – After welcoming the PBR’s (Professional Bull Riders) premier Unleash The Beast for the past 16 consecutive years, Sprint Center will make Western sports history in 2020, with “America’s Original Extreme Sport” combining forces with the WCRA (World Champions Rodeo Alliance). The blockbuster western sports pairing will bring Kansas City three days of edge-of-the-seat action from Feb. 28-March 1 with the PBR Unleash the Beast and Royal City Roundup, WCRA’S first $1 Million Major rodeo of the season.


The WCRA’s Royal City Roundup on Friday, Feb. 28 will showcase nine athletes competing in each of the eight rodeo disciplines: bareback riding, women’s breakaway roping, saddle bronc riding, steer wrestling, team roping, tie-down roping, barrel racing, and bull riding. A collective $1 million will be on the line, with $111,000 being paid out in each discipline and each champion leaving Sprint Center with a $50,000 check.


Following the one-day WCRA events, fans will be captivated for the 17th consecutive year by the Top 35 bull riders in the world as the elite Unleash The Beast takes over for two nights with PBR on Saturday, Feb. 29 and Sunday, March 1.  All 35 bull riders will get on one bull each in Round 1 and 2. Following Round 2 on Sunday afternoon, the riders’ individual two-round scores will be totaled with the Top 15 advancing to the championship round for one more out and a chance at the $30,000 event title.


In 2019 in Kanas City, world title contender Chase Outlaw captured his first regular-season event win of the year, propelling him to the world No. 1 ranking. As the only rider to go a perfect 3-for-3, Outlaw won 510 world points, erased a 380-point deficit, and eclipsed then No. 1 Jess Lockwood in the world rankings.


Since the most recent Kansas City event, Outlaw and Lockwood, joined by Jose Vitor Leme, Joao Ricardo Vieira and Cooper Davis have been locked in an intense battle for the season’s gold buckle, making the 2019 season one of the most competitive title races in league history.


Other past Kansas City winners include: Owen Washburn (1996), Tuff Hedeman (1996), Troy Dunn (1997), Dave Samsel (2004), Guilherme Marchi (2005, 2008, 2009, 2018), Mike Lee (2006), Justin McBride (2007), Austin Meier (2010), Caleb Sanderson (2011), L.J. Jenkins (2012), Marco Eguchi (2013), Emilio Resende (2014), J.W. Harris (2015) and Eduardo Aparecido (2016, 2017).  


The WCRA Royal City Roundup begins at 6:45 p.m. CT on Friday, February 28. All nine athletes will go head-to-head in a long round with the top three best runs and rides advancing to a showdown round following an intermission. The top athlete in each discipline from the showdown round will be crowned the next WCRA $1 Million Major Champion.


Tickets for PBR in Kansas City go on sale Monday, Nov. 11 at 10 a.m. at, Price Chopper Box Office at Sprint Center or by phone at 888.929.7849. For group rates and information, call Sprint Center at (816) 949-7177 or email [email protected]

PBR: Professional Bull Riders

Feb 29 - Mar 1, 2020
Feb 29 - Mar 1, 2020