The Big 12 Men's Basketball Championship is here this week

Mar 3, 2012

2012 Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship Schedule Announced

The University of Kansas has earned the 2011-12 Big 12 men’s basketball regular-season title and will be the No. 1 seed in the Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship, scheduled for March 7-10 at Sprint Center in Kansas City. It marks the 12th outright or shared crown in 16 seasons for the Jayhawks, who have accomplished the feat eight years in a row.

Missouri, Iowa State and Baylor will be seeded second, third and fourth, respectively. Kansas State and Texas round out the teams with first-round byes and will be seeded No. 5 and No. 6. The Tigers match their highest seed in championship history (1999), while the Cyclones have their highest position since being in the top spot in 2000 and 2001.

First-round games will be played on Wednesday, March 7 with No. 8 Oklahoma playing No. 9 Texas A&M and No. 7 Oklahoma State facing No. 10 Texas Tech. The game between the Sooners and Aggies will be a rematch of the teams’ regular-season finale.

Extensive video coverage of the entire Championship can be found via the conference website at The video available will include links to video highlights and stats from every contest along with exclusive live coverage of postgame press conferences. In addition, exclusive coverage of the championship trophy ceremony can be found on Saturday night, March 10.

The entire Big 12 Men’s Basketball Championship will be televised either regionally or nationally by the Big 12 Network, ESPN, ESPN2 or ESPNU. All games will also be available on ESPN3 and/or ESPN Full Court.


2012 Big 12 Men's Basketball Chamionship Bracket